The Intoxication

Books have an intoxicating effect on me. I’ve felt this way for as long as I can remember. My mom would read to me every night and when I was old enough, she would let me have any book I wanted. There was never a book limit like there were limits as to how many toys I could buy. This instilled in me an appreciation that books were more precious than anything else I could get my hands on. They were sacred because they contained vast knowledge and worlds with fetching protagonists who were always on vital journeys.

I never went anywhere without a book. At family parties, I would find a small nook to crawl in and wouldn’t be seen until the end of the night. This certainly led to complications as my mother always had to explain that her daughter would much rather read a book rather than gossip with children of her own age. My hunger for reading never dampened and in fact, it merely grew. As a teenager, all I wanted was to spend time in the nearest bookstore or library. My first job at fifteen was at a used bookstore. I maintain that I never actually made any money there but that the owner made a pretty penny off of my purchases. Never once did I regret money spent on books.

Thus, the incarnation of this blog. What better way for me to pay homage to the one constant in my life? The one thing that has captivated and pleased me for all these years and I daresay will continue to do so until the day I die. Books. To partially quote Thomas Jefferson, “I cannot live without books.” and I wonder, why would I want to?

Leave a Reply

