Quoth The Raven, “Never BEER!”

OOH how I enjoy literary references! Several months ago I was in a beer store and by chance I saw a colorful display of beers with a familiar face. Naturally, I dashed for the display so that I could examine more closely. My aunt was with me and I could see that she was tired and waiting for me to hurry up but I couldn’t get enough! The beer was an homage to Edgar Allan Poe! So like the literary nerd that I am, I laughed and read everything on the boxes over and over. Finally, I bought a bunch of them so that I could show my friends. I had no intention of drinking any of them but merely wanted to share this amazing find with others. Too cool!

Living in Maryland, Edgar Allan Poe’s depiction is not an uncommon sight to see. Poe lived and subsequently died in the city of Baltimore of causes that are still up for debate. It was rumored that he was quite the alcoholic and a local newspaper reported Poe’s cause of death as “congestion of the brain,” which was another way of saying “alcohol poisoning”. However, there are many other theories out there but there is little to no evidence to back them up.

Poe is depicted as a dark and dreary (not weak and weary) individual with little happiness or luck in his life. His tales are certainly filled with anguish but there is a complexity that touches us all. What would Mr. Poe think of these gorgeous and colorful beers with the names of his stories plastered on them? I find that they are extremely clever and enjoy the little blurb from his stories found on the box. Other than that, I can’t judge because I’m not a beer drinker. I don’t know the difference between a Lager or a Pilsner (even though many have tried to explain it to me).

Leave a Reply

