$2

What can you buy for two dollars? A chocolate bar, gum, a 16 ounce soda, two items at the dollar store (not including tax of course!), junk food, a song from iTunes, a lotto ticket or lip gloss. All good choices (maybe minus the junk food) but I choose to use my humble cash to buy knowledge. My local library has three large carts of ever changing books for sale, situated near the entrance. I find myself in there at least once a week, perusing the books and hoping for a gem. I open myself up to the book Gods and hope that they will find me a stimulating topic. Today, I walked out with four books.library

I am particularly keen on starting the book, “The Billionaire’s Vinegar”, which is a true story about a Bordeaux that sold for $156,000 at auction. Supposedly, Thomas Jefferson owned this wine but the history goes farther back than that! I have yet to begin reading it as I am still in the midst of three other books but this has been placed at the top of my list.

“Michelangelo & the Pope’s Ceiling” also tickled my fancy because I adore history. This book tells the tale of what circumstances led to the design and achievement of the Sistine Chapel during the Italian Renaissance. This is not a topic that I know much about but am eager to learn! So here I am, two dollars well spent and ready to read! I guess I’m a bargain shopper because it feels really great to find these types of discounts on books. Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

