Book of the Month

I have been a member of the Book of the Month club for three months now. I chose to receive one book a month but there are options to receive more based on how much you are willing to pay. At the beginning of the month, a group of judges announce five book selections that you can choose from. If you don’t see something you like, then you can choose to skip the month without paying for it. I picked and read “The Veins of the Ocean” by Patricia Engel and “Missing, Presumed” by Susie Steiner.

I wasn’t a fan of either book but am glad that I had the occasion to read something out of my comfort zone. Today, I received my August selection. I had to go with Paula McLain’s book “Circling The Sun” because she had such great success with her former book “The Paris Wife”. How could I say no to the author of a book about Ernest Hemingway’s wife in the 1920’s? Clearly, I could not!

I like the way that the Book of the Month people present their books. Below are pictures of the package. Last month, I received a cool twisty straw with their logo on it and this month I received a cute wine cozee. The company’s Instagram page always has photos of cats or dogs posing with their books. This further amuses me because I am a fellow fur baby lover. Pets and books?! What’s NOT to love?

g

I’m glad I gave this group a shot and can’t wait to see what other genres and books are on the horizon.

Save

Leave a Reply

