Carlos Ruiz Zafon

After I met Carlos Ruiz Zafon this past summer, my interest in his work was renewed. I enjoyed hearing him speak and I decided to not only revisit “The Shadow of the Wind” but I also read “The Angel’s Game” and “The Prisoner of Heaven” in rapid succession. What do I love about his writing? You truly teleport to another dimension that is filled with suspense and beauty. Zafon’s works are typically based in Spain and contain a slight supernatural element. The characters in his books also tend to break into monologues that are bountiful in description. I fell in love with “The Angel’s Game” immediately and then moved on to his newest book “Marina”. I highly recommend reading these books if you have a love for descriptive writing that is filled with mystery. Out of the over one hundred books I have read this year, two out of my top five are Zafon’s books.

marina

Leave a Reply

