Nightingales

Last year, around this time, I read the book “The Nightingale” by Kristin Hannah. It was such a beautifully written book that I could not stop reading. I snuggled on my recliner with a blanket in front of the fireplace and read and read until I could no longer read. The story is one about two sisters in France living during World War II. The sisters are depicted as yin and yang, night and day, no two people are more different. The brilliance of the book is that you begin to develop notions on how each character is going to act based on the character development but you don’t really expect what ends up happening. This is truly a book about the strength of the human spirit when faced with adversity. I recommend this book to everyone.

On one of my weekly visits to Barnes and Noble, I noticed that one of the top books of 2017 is new release “The Bear and The Nightingale” by Katherine Arden. Odd indeed! What a coincidence that two bestsellers within a year of one another had the term “nightingale” in the title. Even the book covers have a similar hazy blue feel with golden lettering. I knew that I had no choice but to read this PLUS it has amazing reviews. Arden is a newcomer in the world of novel-writing and I’m only about one hundred pages in but I am already entangled in the whimsical web she has created. The story takes place in Russia and is about a young girl whose mother died in child-birth. Her father remarried when she was seven years of age and her magical world of whimsy was quickly dismissed as her stepmother turned out to be a devoutly religious woman who ruled with an iron fist. I can’t reveal anything else because you should read the book. Plus, I am not finished!

Why nightingales? Perhaps because they are small birds who sing a sweet song during the night. They exist in the real world but they also have a magical element to them because they are creatures of the dark, mysterious night.

 

Leave a Reply

