Illustrated “Animal Farm”

On one of my many excursions to used book sales, I happened upon a hardback 50th Anniversary Edition of George Orwell’s “Animal Farm”. I was immediately intrigued and leafed through the pages with great haste. The illustrations and layout were magnificent and I knew I could not pass up this book, especially since it only cost one dollar!

How timely my find was! Even though Orwell intended this novella to be a criticism of Stalinism and the brutality of that dictatorship, I find that those same words can be applied to scrutinize our democratic nation.  However you want to look at it, the book was superbly written and leaves a haunting aftertaste that has stayed with me since I read it the first time many moons ago.

 

Leave a Reply

